Quantcast
Girls*Heart* Books: GHBT Review: Sworn to Raise by Terah Edun

Saturday, March 8, 2014

GHBT Review: Sworn to Raise by Terah Edun

Sworn to Raise
Courtlight Series #1
Terah Edun
Release Date: April 10th, 2013

Seventeen-year-old Ciardis has grown up in poverty, a cleaner in a small vale on the outskirts of the empire. But beneath her empire’s seemingly idyllic surface lies a hidden secret. Whispers of an inept crown Prince are growing ever louder—intensified by the five year anniversary of the soulbond initiations.

Amidst scandalous whispers, Ciardis finds herself chosen to train for the Companion’s Guild. She leaves her home and sets off on a personal journey to become a Court Companion. A position she’d never thought possible for a lowly servant to obtain, she must prove that she has the skills to attract a Patron.

But she must master those skills quickly. If the legends are true, only Ciardis can harness the power to raise a Prince in an Imperial Court sworn to bring him down.

This sensational series debut melds intricate storylines with remarkable characters and unforgettable magic. Sworn To Raise is ideal for fans of Kristin Cashore, Michelle Sagara, and Maria Snyder.

Sworn to Raise is the first novel in the Courtlight series by Terah Edun. I have heard a lot of mixed reviews on this series, and all I've heard is you either love it, or you loathe it, there is no in-between. I am happy to report I am on the I-Love-This-Series boat.

The story is written in third-person and centers around Ciardis Vane, an orphaned girl from Vaneis who is picked up by a beautiful Companion (or 'woman with loose morals', depending on who you ask) to become a trainee to become a Companion herself. I really enjoyed Ciardis's character, she is very strong-willed and brave, and it's written in such an easy way you can just snuggle down and completely lose yourself in Edun's lyrical writing.

And can I just make note I love the way this is written? The story is not set in present time and it doesn't sound like it was written in present time, either. I love how Edun avoided using 21st century terms but still managed to keep it tight and beautiful. Absolutely in LOVE! I can't wait to read the next installment!

My Rating:


About the Author
Terah Edun is a young adult fantasy writer born and raised in the Atlanta metropolitan area, who transplanted to the Northeast region for college, and has spent years living abroad in South Sudan and Morocco. She writes the stories that she always loved to read as a young girl.

   

*We receive NO payment of any kind for our reviews---we review books we've bought, or books that are provided by the author/publisher in exchange for an honest review*

2 comments:

  1. Thank you for the lovely review Lana!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Did you know that you can shorten your urls with Shortest and make cash from every click on your shortened links.

    ReplyDelete

We love to hear from you!