Girls*Heart* Books: GHBT- Frost Series by Liz DeJesus Tour : Review of Glass Frost & Excerpt/Spotlight

Thursday, November 6, 2014

GHBT- Frost Series by Liz DeJesus Tour : Review of Glass Frost & Excerpt/Spotlight

Glass Frost
The Frost Series Book # 2 
By- Liz DeJesus
Publication Date- July 19th, 2013
Published By- Musa Publishing

When joined together, Cinderella's slippers grant the wearer her heart's desire. But whose wish will be granted?

When Cinderella’s glass slipper is stolen, Queen Felicia sends her faithful steward Terrance to the real world to retrieve his love and witch-in-training, Bianca Frost. The power of the glass slipper, when paired with its mate, and in the wrong hands, could ruin the peace of Everafter. Bianca must gather every bit of magic she has learned in the past few weeks to find the slipper and protect her new love. Together, Bianca, Ming, Prince Ferdinand, and Terrance venture deep into the heart of Everafter to seek clues as to who has stolen the slipper and why. Along the way, they uncover what happened to the Seven Dwarves after Snow White married the prince, but also learn the awful risk of tampering with black magic and the high price that must be paid for magic, even when used for good.

Bianca and Terrance’s relationship is put to the test. Through the pain of suffering and loss, Bianca must determine if following her gallant boyfriend into his faraway world is in fact her heart's desire.

And here is an Excerpt from Glass Frost

Bianca turned around, ready to leave the Fairy Realm, defeated and with no answers when something hit her. What if Fanny could understand her questions regardless of what the queen thought? What was the harm in asking? Bianca shrugged and turned back toward Fanny. Terrance put a hand on her shoulder and tried to stop her. His eyes widened, with a look he asked her what she was doing. She patted his hand and walked away, convinced that what she was about to do was right.

“What does she think she’s doing?” Titania asked.

Bianca hesitated for a moment, worried about what the queen would do to her. But Titania remained still, almost as if she was as curious as everyone else to see how Fanny would react to Bianca.

Fanny danced around Bianca as though she were invisible. She just twirled and giggled as though someone had told a funny joke.

Why won’t she see me? Am I invisible to her?

“Hello,” Bianca cried. She touched Fanny on the elbow, hoping deep inside to make a connection. A flash of light blinded her momentarily, and she felt an electric current race through her body. The power from that knocked Bianca on the floor on her rear end.

Fanny miraculously stopped. She remained silent at first. Then she turned her dark brown eyes at Bianca. They held so much sorrow and pain.

“Fanny, can you hear me?” Bianca asked.

“Yes,” she replied. Her eyes widened in surprise, as though she was amazed that she was still able to use her voice.

Fanny then gagged. She got on all fours and heaved until a single white rose passed through her lips. The flower was covered with bile and saliva as it fell heavily on the ground.

Bianca sat beside Fanny, her hand hovering over her shoulder precariously. She was scared of what else would happen should she touch Fanny once more.

“I’m so sorry. I forgot that it would cause you pain to speak.”

Fanny looked into Bianca’s eyes. She shrugged and gave Bianca a sad smile.

“My name is Bianca. Those are my friends over there, Ming, Terrance, and Prince Ferdinand. We’re all here because we need your help.”


Glass Frost is the second book in The Frost Series by Liz DeJesus. It is a fairytale retelling of mass proportions. The story revolves around Bianca Frost, a witch in training and descendant of a real life fairytale princess (I'll refrain from saying which one, in case you haven't read First Frost), who is thrust back into Everafter when Queen Felicia sends for her to retrieve Cinderella's missing glass slipper.

Now, if you've been following me/this blog for a long period of time, you will know I was not blown away by First Frost. I thought the characters were lacking maturity and the storyline seemed predictable. But I really liked the concept the author came up with, so I thought I would give the Frost series another chance. I am pleased to say DeJesus has clearly grown in her writing and in turn the Frost series has become an epic fairytale retelling.

I really enjoyed every minute of this novel. There was action, suspense, romance--everything I felt was missing before is here in full force, now. And DeJesus manages to keep it clean for the younger readers--I would easily give this to a ten year old asking for his or her first "big" read--but grown-up enough so the parents can read along without feeling like they're reading a kiddie book. 

I was very impressed with this novel and I will definitely be reading the next installment.

My Rating:
About the Author- 

Liz DeJesus was born on the tiny island of Puerto Rico. She is a novelist and a poet. She has been writing for as long as she was capable of holding a pen. She is the author of the novel Nina (Blu Phi'er Publishing, October 2007), The Jackets (Arte Publico Press, March 2011) First Frost (Musa Publishing, June 2012), Glass Frost (Musa Publishing, July 2013), Morgan (Indie Gypsy, July 2014) and The Laurel (Musa Publishing, November 2014). Her work has also appeared in Night Gypsy: Journey Into Darkness (Indie Gypsy, October 2012) and Someone Wicked (Smart Rhino Publications, Winter 2013).

Liz is currently working on a new novel and a comic book series titled Zombie Ever After (Emerald Star Comics, Fall 2014).

Frost Series- 

Zombie Ever After- 

No comments:

Post a Comment

We love to hear from you!