Girls*Heart* Books: Author Appreciation Day 17:The Marvelous Maggie Stiefvater

Saturday, March 17, 2012

Author Appreciation Day 17:The Marvelous Maggie Stiefvater

Today we're all about the genius of Maggie Stiefvater. I think she is one of the most talented voices out there in the young adult genre right now. ALL her books are amazing and heartbreaking while still making you laugh out loud at times. I just think she's fabulous! 
Maggie Stiefvater's Website
Maggie is the author of Ballad & Lament (her homicidal faerie books), The Wolves of Mercy Falls series (Shiver, Linger & Forever), The Scorpio Races & the upcoming Raven Boys series. I first found Maggie while browsing through Borders. I stumbled across Lament and read the synopsis and thought, hmm..homicidal faeries?? Sounds good! So I bought it & I was so glad!  Her writing is like poetry and she is such a gifted story teller that you fall right into the story as you're reading. You feel the characters' pain, joy, triumph, just everything as you read their stories. Another thing I love about Maggie is she's not afraid to give her characters a not-so-happy ending sometimes. Things never magically become perfect just because you've reached the end of the book. Don't get me wrong, I love a good happy ending as much as the next girl, I just appreciate the uniqueness of Maggie's style of not always happy, but interesting endings, too. 
My favorite book by Maggie, has to be Shiver, the first book in the Wolves of Mercy Falls series. It's the whole falling in love with the person you know you're supposed to be with forever thing, I think. Plus I love Sam just a little bit, he is an amazing character and his and Grace's love story is one of the best I've ever read. If you haven't read this book, give yourself a stern talking to and then go out and BUY it now!  I promise you won't regret it. 

“There are only two reasons a non-seer would see a spirit on St. Mark’s Eve,” Neeve said. “Either you’re his true love . . . or you killed him.”

It is freezing in the churchyard, even before the dead arrive.

Every year, Blue Sargent stands next to her clairvoyant mother as the soon-to-be dead walk past. Blue herself never sees them—not until this year, when a boy emerges from the dark and speaks directly to her.

His name is Gansey, and Blue soon discovers that he is a rich student at Aglionby, the local private school. Blue has a policy of staying away from Aglionby boys. Known as Raven Boys, they can only mean trouble.

But Blue is drawn to Gansey, in a way she can’t entirely explain. He has it all—family money, good looks, devoted friends—but he’s looking for much more than that. He is on a quest that has encompassed three other Raven Boys: Adam, the scholarship student who resents all the privilege around him; Ronan, the fierce soul who ranges from anger to despair; and Noah, the taciturn watcher of the four, who notices many things but says very little.

For as long as she can remember, Blue has been warned that she will cause her true love to die. She never thought this would be a problem. But now, as her life becomes caught up in the strange and sinister world of the Raven Boys, she’s not so sure anymore.

From Maggie Stiefvater, the bestselling and acclaimed author of the Shiver trilogy and The Scorpio Races, comes a spellbinding new series where the inevitability of death and the nature of love lead us to a place we’ve never been before.

I don't know about you guys, but I cannot wait to read this book!!  

No comments:

Post a Comment

We love to hear from you!